Year III

Image

Oil Exercise XV – Progress

By demand of a friend I’m posting snapshots of the progress of this…

Original photograph (Directions “Copy freely, remaining loyal only to the colours”  (Yeah right!) 1-diafora0303

Preparing the workstation. Brushes (DaVinci College No.12 I only used one brush for this), pine turpentine, oil colours (Ferarrio Oil Master: Prussian Blue, Ultramarine Blue Dark, Violet, Titanium White), 30×40 WnN paper canvas  1-SAM_1844Did a quick drawing on the paper to get a “feeling” where everything will be placed. This will be covered later completely, so it does not have to be precise or nice. This is not even necesary, but it helps me, or I just like pencil drawing.

1-SAM_18461-SAM_1848Layed an undercoat of very thin, liquid state paint, disolved to a “runny” stage with turpentine. Usualy a colour close to the tones of the painting.1-SAM_1850Applied the sketch using a soft pencil (<2B). I like to be as precise as possible with the sketches, although this is generally wrong and should be avoided, since nothing of this will be “visible” at the end and it is completely against the mentality of oil painting. But I like drawing… 1-SAM_1851Started with the dark areas on this. Trying to get a sense of where the darkest areas lay, desaturating the colours going backwards to create a sense of “depth”1-SAM_1852Finalizing the paint, this needs some refining. Iusually lay the work to rest for a few hours, a day or so, this helps to “reset” my view on the work, and then go back and correct a few things that they dont feel “right”, or undo unwanted optical illusions.

4 responses

  1. Awesome dude! I’m guna use this method today and post the results. I’ve always wanted to do some landscape painting (I have such a deep feeling of awe at the wonders of nature) but always felt too intimidated to begin. This is a really good, not too complicated, methodology.

    And thanks for taking my request 🙂 To others reading this comment I suggest you pick this guys brain so we can all learn a lot in process!

    ~Jones

    Like

    March 26, 2014 at 9:38 pm

  2. Enjoyed reading through your process – thank you for sharing. This is my first time to your blog – I especially like watching your characters evolve and change through small or grand feature manipulations – wonderful art
    AnnMarie

    Liked by 1 person

    April 29, 2014 at 12:11 pm

    • Geo

      I started this blog, just to keep a record of the work and exercises of the Art Tuitions I m taking under a real painter and a great teacher. So I decided to upload everything, even unsucessfull trials that I throw away after.
      I was very surprised to receive the first likes and was even more glad to see that other people, students or art aficionados followed this blog. Thank you very much for you kind words, and hope you stay aroung. This is year One after all, and there are Five more years to go!.. Thanx again. George

      Like

      April 29, 2014 at 12:28 pm

      • I give private children’s art lessons – and at any age – developing one’s art is a unique and ever-evolving process…
        In the end, the piece you’ve created seen through your eyes is the genuine art – the rest are only other viewers interpretations. I always tell my little students enjoy the journey, see as much as you can along the way…
        Your instructor is doing an excellent job…and you are well on your way…
        I will follow to check in on your progress – as we all continue to grow…
        AnnMarie

        Like

        April 29, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Comments are free! Say What you think!

